UCR Homepage CHASS Homepage

Undeclared Program: What is a Major?

A major is a coordinated group of upper-division courses (courses numbered 100-199) in a field of specialization. All majors contain a minimum of 36-units of upper division courses, although the number of required units in each major varies.

The College of Humanities, Arts and Social Sciences offers three different types of majors:

  • Departmental majors. A single department, i.e., History, English, etc.
  • Interdisciplinary majors: A group of related courses involving a number of departments/disciplines
  • Humanities, Arts, and Social Sciences Individualized Major: A group of courses chosen to meet a special interest not covered by existing majors.

The Interdisciplinary majors in the College of Humanities Arts and Social Sciences are:

Asian Studies
Ethnic Studies
Gender and Sexual Studies
Global Studies
Latin American Studies
Liberal Studies

Media and Cultural Studies
Middle East and Islamic Studies
Native American Studies
Public Policy
Religious Studies
Sustainability Studies

Reasons to Choose an Interdisciplinary Major

Interdisciplinary majors examine a topic by taking courses from a broad range of disciplines such as Economics, English literature, History, Political Science, Media and Culture Studies and others to gain the needed insights into trends.

Humanities, Arts, and Social Sciences Interdisciplinary Major (Individualized major) offers courses of broad interest, and students with interests not readily satisfied through existing departments and programs may develop individual majors under the direction of special faculty sponsors. The consent of the Humanities, Arts, and Social Sciences Interdisciplinary Program Committee and the associate dean are required. The title of the major will be entered on the official degree list and on the official transcript. Diplomas will read “Humanities, Arts, and Social Sciences Interdisciplinary” with the individual field of concentration specified.

What is a minor?

The College of Humanities, Arts, and Social Sciences offers minor programs; however, no student is required to take a minor. Minors are not degree-granting majors; they are sequences of supplemental courses designed to enhance work in certain areas. For instance, you might want to go to Law school and decide to major in English and then minor in Philosophy to further enhance your critical thinking skills. Minors in the college shall consist of no less than 16 and no more than 28 units of organized upper-division course work.